Clinical Directors

Welcome to the Clinical Directors' area. This section of the College website contains information that Clinical Directors (CDs) and associated Clinical Managers may find useful in their day to day working.

You can login to the CD secure area here which contains the CD forum for advice and the CD Database, which contains members’ contact details who have a major managerial commitment and consented to provide their details. Over time we will also develop a resource library. Dates and links for future national CD meetings are also included here.

Clinical Directors' Executive Committee

The Clinical Directors' Executive Committee has membership from across the UK all of whom are, or have previously been CDs for anaesthesia, intensive care medicine and pain management. The Executive Committee is hosted by the Royal College of Anaesthetists and was formed following an open invitation to CDs in June 2012. Competitive interviews were undertaken and the committee was founded in 2013. The Executive Committee recruited three new members in 2017.

The Executive Committee has a specific remit to:

  • promote and encourage information sharing and good practice between Clinical Directors in UK NHS Departments of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine and Pain Management, and
  • to assist the RCoA, NHS employers and individual doctors in improving quality and standards of practice by developing and providing a consistent approach to issues raised in the management of anaesthesia related services.

It meets four times a year to discuss issues raised from within the CD forum and from the College, and to plan the CD Network meetings. We have co-opted representation on RCoA Council and AAGBI Council and sit on a number of RCoA and Academy of Medical Royal Colleges’ Committees.

Dr Hamish McLure




Dr Richard Davidson

Dr Mike Duffy


Dr Caroline Hibbert


Dr Sandeep Lakhani

Dr Tony Turley


Dr Jeremy Howard