Single-specialty Training

It is now possible to train exclusively in ICM in addition to combining it with another specialty.

Before starting dedicated ICM training you will need to have completed one of the following core training programmes, in addition to your Foundation years:

  • Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS)
  • Core Anaesthetic Training (CAT)
  • Core Medical Training (CMT)

Entrance to ST3 ICM is through competitive national interviews which are run by the West Midlands Deanery.  In addition to completion of a core training programme, you will need to have obtained one of the following:

  • FFICM (Primary)
  • FRCA (Primary)
  • MRCP UK (Full)
  • MCEM (Full)

Stage 1 training
Encompasses the completion of one of the defined core programmes (see above) and the first two years of Higher Specialist Training (ST3‐4).  These two HST years aim to develop the core competencies that were not covered in your core training programme, in addition to extending ICM experience.  For example, if you have undertaken CMT then you will gain further experience in anaesthesia during these years.   Alternatively if you have completed CAT then you will undertake a period of basic medical training.

Stage 2 training
Runs from ST5 to ST6.  During these years you will gain experience of sub‐specialty ICM including cardiothoracic, neurosciences and paediatric ICM in addition to further general ICM experience.  Stage 2 training also encompasses a ‘Special Skills’ year.  This year allows you to develop an area of special interest; examples include academic ICM, management, pre‐hospital medicine, education or echocardiography. 

During Stage 2 training you will be required to pass the Final FFICM in order to progress to the final year of training.

Stage 3 training
The final year of training (ST7) which is spent exclusively in ICM.  This year is aimed at developing higher level clinical and non‐clinical skills in the run up to becoming a consultant.

More information is available from the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine.