Core Level

The core level is normally two years in duration and consists of the introduction to anaesthetia and core anaesthesia. The introduction to anaesthesia is usually completed within the first six months and includes the initial assessment of competence milestone. The remainder of the two years is dedicated towards completing core anaesthesia and passing the Primary FRCA examination. Trainees who enter via the ACCS route complete the core level in three years. Two of the years are in ACCS and the third year is just anaesthesia.

Click here for Primary FRCA

Table of Contents for Annex B (Core Level Training)

Download the full document here

  • Glossary of terms
  • Assessment method decode
  • Good Medical Practice decode

Introduction to Anaesthesia

  • Preoperative assessment
  • Premedication
  • Postoperative and recovery room care
  • Perioperative management of emergency patients
  • Induction of general anaesthesia
  • Intraoperative care
  • Infection control
  • Management of cardiac arrest in adults and children

Core anaesthesia

  • Airway management
  • Critical incidents
  • Day surgery
  • General, urological and gynaecological surgery
  • ENT, maxillo-facial and dental surgery
  • Intensive care medicine
  • Non-theatre
  • Obstetrics
  • Orthopaedic surgery
  • Paediatrics including child protection
  • Pain medicine
  • Perioperative medicine
  • Regional
  • Sedation
  • Transfer medicine
  • Trauma and stabilisation

Basic sciences to underpin anaesthetic practice

  • Anatomy
  • Pharmacology
  • Physiology and biochemistry
  • Physics and clinical measurement
  • Statistical methods
  • Assessments for the Initial Assessment of Competence
  • Assessments for the Initial Assessment of Competence in Obstetric Anaesthesia
  • Blueprint of the Primary FRCA examination mapped against core level units of training
  • Blueprint of the Primary FRCA examination mapped against professionalism of medical practice (Annex A)
  • Blueprint of workplace based assessments against the core level units of training


In this section: