Higher Level

The higher level of training is two years in duration and is called post fellowship training. At least one year of the two years must be done in general duties. Trainees must complete the essential units of training and may also choose to do one or more of the optional units of training. For the essential unit of general duties, trainees must complete eight of the 13 units of training listed under the general duties banner. Airway management and management of respiratory arrest are mandatory due to the nature of anaesthetic practice.

Higher level and advanced level training can be delivered flexibly depending on the individual Schools of Anaesthesia and the availability of specialist training, for example, a trainee could complete higher level training is ST5, advanced level in ST6 and finish their higher training in ST7.

Table of Contents for Annex D (Higher Level Training)

Download the full document here

  • Glossary of terms
  • Assessment method decode
  • General Medical Practice decode

Essential Units

  • Anaesthesia for neurosurgery, neuroradiology and neurocritical care
  • Cardiothoracic anaesthesia and cardiothoracic critical care
  • General duties
    • Airway management*
    • Day surgery
    • ENT, Maxillo-facial and dental
    • General, urological and gynaecological surgery
    • Management of respiratory and cardiac arrest*
    • Non-theatre
    • Obstetrics
    • Orthopaedic
    • Perioperative medicine*
    • Regional
    • Sedation
    • Transfer medicine
    • Trauma and stabilisation
    • Vascular surgery
  • Intensive care medicine
  • Paediatrics

Optional Units

  • Pain medicine
  • Ophthalmic
  • Plastics/Burns
  • Anaesthesia in developing countries
  • Conscious sedation in dentistry
  • Military anaesthesia
  • Remote and rural anaesthesia
  • Blueprint of workplace based assessments mapped against the higher level units of training

*essential for all trainees


In this section: