The Stages of Training

There are two routes of entry into anaesthesia - the direct route through Core Training or the  ACCS (Acute Care Common Stem) route. Core anaesthesia is two years in duration and is focussed on Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine. The ACCS route is three years in duration of which the first two years consists of the ACCS programme and then the third year is the anaesthesia programme at CT2

The Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT) in Anaesthetics programme is normally a seven-year training programme for trainees taking the Core anaesthesia route, or eight years for those following the ACCS route.

Phases of training
The training programme consists of four phases, which are:-

On completion of the training programme, the GMC award a CCT which then allows the holder to apply for a consultant anaesthetist post.


                             Basic Level                                                      Intermediate Level                                 Higher and Advanced Level


The basis of Anaesthetic Practice
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine, Emergency Medicine and Acute Medicine
Neuroanaesthesia, Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia and the Final FRCA
Post-Fellowship Training
Preparing for Consultant Practice
The first Milestone of Training
Intensive Care Medicine, Pain Medicine and Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine
Periods of time spent outside of the programme as clinical experience or research