The partners in the Safe Anaesthesia Liaison Group (SALG) are: the Royal College of Anaesthetists, the Association of Anaesthetists and NHS England/ NHS Improvement.

Read the Terms of Reference

Dr Felicity Plaat (Joint Chair)

Royal College of Anaesthetists

Dr Peter Young (Joint Chair)

Association of Anaesthetists

SALG Members


Name Representing
Dr W Donaldson & Prof D Honan  Northern Ireland Committee
Dr R Fleming & Dr H Smith Association of Anaesthetists, SAS representative
Dr L Zucco and Dr M Needham SALG Scholars
Dr L Mulroy Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency
Dr T Meek Association of Anaesthetists
Mr B Patel Lay member
Mr P Phillips Welsh Government
Ms L Fowler NHS England and NHS Improvement
Dr D Varveris & Dr A Harvey Scottish committee
Dr S Marsden and Dr L Bubb Trainee Representative
Mr A Williamson Healthcare Safety Investigation Branch

Dr P Hersey 

Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine
Prof A Smith and Prof Pandit RCoA Representatives


A wider group of co-opted/advisory members represent specialist societies, the Faculties of Intensive Care and Pain Medicine, nursing bodies and other relevant organisations.

If you would like to raise an issue with SALG, please contact [email protected]

Find out more